We’ve recently let our dogs into the house during the day and at night because it’s been so freaking hot. They love it, except Ella can’t leave them alone. She’ll put a leash on one and lead it around from room to room.

Today Ella decided to be a puppy herself. She clipped the leash to her shirt collar and asked Trish and I to walk her wherever she went.

She’s well behaved. She sits, lies down, rolls over. She pants very convincingly, and licks sloppy kisses on us. She says she’s Abby’s puppy. Abby’s our lone female pooch.

“I was a little puppy in Abby’s belly, and I was born, born in her belly.”

Trish asked her if Abby had named her.

“Peentzy. Peentzy is just my last name. My first name is Teentzy.”

No, I don’t know where she gets this stuff.
This evening Trish and our new puppy came back from running an errand and Trish was leading Teentzy Peentzy up the stairs. “What’s this?” I said.

“Oh, it’s nothing. We walked around the store like this.”

……………………………………………………………………………………….

Teentzy Peentzy also had a poop in her big-girl pants today. She got off the toilet-training track during the episode with the runny poop — which, thank God, is over, and there were no critters living inside her.

Trish says, “today she brought me a plastic bag, and she was walking funny, so I said took her into the bathroom and said, ‘let’s get these pants off of you.’

She said, ‘be careful, Mama. It’s messy.'”

